Could Google Public DNS beat my local ISP (Streamyx) DNS?

Posted: February 18, 2010 in Internet, Service, Software

Short answer, yes it might!

I have been using Google Public DNS for a few months now and I really like this free service. Without any doubt, Google Public DNS suffer less DNS poisoning attack compare to my local ISP DNS (Streamyx) due to Google large network infrastructure. To make it short, I never suffer any bad DNS lookup problem due to whatever attacks since I use Google Public DNS service.

However, I never fail to wonder that in real practice, is Google Public DNS is actually speed up or slow down my computer DNS lookup. There are 2 ideas that contradict each other and keep fighting to win my subconscious mind. Part of my mind claims that my local ISP DNS server will give the fastest possible response due to geographical factor. Of course it is, right? I am connected with them, therefore in network route perspective; their DNS server should be the closest to my DSL modem. However, my other part of my mind still insists that DNS server response (speed) is not as simple as that. There are several other critical factors such as server raw speed and cache’s record in term of size and accuracy. Due to Google web crawler crawls the webs on daily basis, Google has better web information and domain name with respective IP data, thus they has better cache (in term of size and speed). Furthermore, I believe Google is practicing scalable clustered network (servers) and there is a good chance that one of Google server is located near to my geo/network location.

To clear this doubt, I do some ‘googling’ and found this piece of gem. It’s called as DNS Benchmark, authored by the infamous Steve Gibson.

(Note 1: I pay tonnes of respect to this software craftsman. uTorrent & Spinrite are among his contributions to our wonderful computing experience and as far as my knowledge, most his ‘craftware’ were built by using assembly language! Now that what we call rare).

(Note 2: You may download this software at his website: http://www.grc.com/dev/DNSBench.exe )

 

Screenshot below shows the result which has been conducted by me using Streamyx Combo 110 (1.5 mbps). No other internet activity was running in the background). All other computers connected to the network were turned off.

DNS IP Address

My Local ISP (Streamyx) DNS :: tm.net.my

Google Public DNS

202.188.1.5

8.8.8.8

202.188.0.132

8.8.4.4

202.188.0.133

 

 

I checked “Sort Fastest First” checkbox in this window and the result is as below.

As you can see, top 5 of this result consist of Google Public DNS and my ISP DNS. The fastest is 202.188.1.5 which is my ISP DNS server’s IP. However, Google Public DNS (both IPs) claim 2nd and 3rd position which I rate this pretty consistent. The different between Google and my local ISP response time is almost insignificant.

 

This tabular data tab shows interesting result. Note that among the top 4, Google Public DNS (both IPs) shows better reliability. Ideally we want any DNS server to has 100% reliability percentage, thus our DNS lookup will not ended somewhere else. Or we might just get that plain stupid response from ‘the Internet’ saying that website (which we are looking for) is not exist or bad query while actually, that particular website is running fine and could be accessed by others without any much drama. Google public DNS has 100% reliability on both Dotcom Lookup and Uncached Name (except for IP 8.8.8.8…hmm I might change my primary DNS IP to 8.8.8.4 LOL). In average, Google Public DNS has better reliability compare to my local ISP server yet still able to provide one of the fastest solutions (if not the fastest).

My personal choice would be Google Public DNS!

Well, why don’t you download this tiny software (no installation required and it’s only 151 kB). Enter your local ISP DNS Server IPs and hit that “Run Benchmark” button. And if you are has plenty of time, why not share your result with us J

 

Why not Open DNS? It is free and it provides more features.

First, it is not among the top 3 in speed division. Secondly, in order to enjoy those benefits, we need to register. A lot of data could be gathered silently. Google promise that they will not keep any record longer than 48 hours, therefore better privacy etc. I don’t care much about privacy or anonymity but I do care about speed, reliability and it should work out of the box. No registration pleases XD.

Comments
  1. John says:

    good info. thanks. add to bookmarks. thank you again

  2. expertester says:

    My pleasure :)

  3. and you “merely” have to surrender your privacy. what a deal!

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=268494
    http://forum.prisonplanet.com/index.php?topic=127506.0

    demand your ISP disable this “feature”

  4. Antonio says:

    But when I run the tracert -d 8.8.8.8, I failed the test. The last hop doesn’t seem to reach 8.8.8.8 as expected by Google Help. Even though I had changed the primary and secondary DNS in the router, it seems like TM’s D-Link router/Billion modem had hardcoded somewhere. It still goes to the Streamyx DNS ip address but not 8.8.8.8. Can you please give me some guidance? Thanks!

    Antonio

  5. rogerwly says:

    Why really was 0.1ms gap significantly effect your speed in real life?? Nothing would go faster if streamyx connection itself is poorly serviced, you would still probably stucked at the streamyx connection speed quality. So, alternative DNS wont help in any circumstances at all.

    -I.T professional-

  6. expertester says:

    @Privacy:
    Some people are overly sensitive about privacy issue. I am not belong to this group. I have no problem if the browser capable to track where I am and Google anonymously record my search word. Heck, I surrender lot of info to cyber world when I have a Facebook account and login into some websites using Facebook account (yeah, sometime I am too lazy to register an account using a smartphone..so just tap on login using facebook lol).

    @Antonio:
    TM’s always do that. You can’t use tracert. Somehow, the packet loss in the nowhere. But, to conform that you already use other than TM’s DNS, try visit piratebay.org. If you can, mean you no longer use TM’s DNS since TM remove that domain name from their DNS table.

    @rogerwly:
    This is an old article. At that time, I was wondering if google public dns is fast enough compare to my local ISP. I am no longer use Streamyx. Already migrate to Unifi 20 Mbps (up/down stream)… fast enough for my need.

Leave a Reply

