My ‘new’ audio experience with X-fi AudioCreationMode

Posted: April 20, 2009 in Hardware, Software
Tags: , , ,

Recently I replaced my Vista with Windows Seven build 7077 and pretty happy with it except on how my SoundBlaster X-Fi Platinum output. Yeah, I know this is not seven fault but more on creative buggy beta driver.

So, in order to listen my mp3 collection as they was in their prime time, I installed WinXP in my other hard disk and update its driver as usual. I was amazed how good my mp3 sound in xp compare to seven lol but what I am going to share today is not related to xp or normal entertainment mode in x-fi but X-Fi Audio Creation Mode + Clock setting + Bit Match setting + Foobar with Noise Sharpening DSP.

I found out that, my music (mp3) sound much waaaaaaaaaayyyy better in audio creation mode when :

  • Clock = 96 kHz
  • Bit Match = ON
  • and….Foobar + Noise Sharpener

acm

96khz bitmatch

The music sound clearer (voice), warmer and more vivid (instrument). I compared with Entertainment mode (with or without crystalizer) and I notice that some of the instruments that I never heard in Entertainment Mode clearly highlighted in Audio Creation Mode (96 kHz and BitMatch activated).

But, the drawback of BitMatch activated is there are no equalizer and crystalizer. So, I compensate this one with Foobar Noise sharpener plugin and equilizer dsp plugin.

Result : Hours of smile and amazement. (never thought that my mp3 could sound this way).

For those who has X-Fi sound card, you may try to play your music collection from Audion Creation mode and experiment yourself.

Link for Foobar : HERE

Link for Noise Sharpener : HERE

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Instruction on how to use Foobar Noise Sharpener.

  1. Extract the zip file
  2. Copy foo_dsp_delta.dll and paste it in C:\Program Files\foobar2000\components
  3. Open Foobar2000 => File => Preference => Playback => DSP Manager and put “Noise Sharpening” on the Active DSP list. Make sure its at the top.
  4. On Noise Sharpening settings, slide the bar to 50-125%. (Whatever sounds reasonable, I personally use 75 percent)
  5. Play any audio file and notice the increased clarity. Activate it and deactivate it while its playing over and over to see the difference.

ns

++++++++++++++++++

To enjoy the power of x-fi ASIO, download ASIO (for x-fi) plug-in and copy/paste it into foobar component folder.

After that, from Preference –> Playback –> Output (set to either 24bit or 32 bit) and at ASIO virtual device, click Add (Creative ASIO).

++++++++++++++++++

Additional Reading :

http://www.overclock.net/sound-cards-computer-audio/226541-guide-setting-up-z5500-x-fi.html

How to setup foobar theme : http://www.neowin.net/forum/lofiversion/index.php/t576549.html

Another good setup : http://www.overclock.net/3202137-post9.html

Comments
  1. Sharah says:

    ok i got no idea on what is this stuff. haha

  2. vascofg says:

    Actualy you can have it as 96kHZ but, since you use Bit-Matched Playback (and so do I), it will auto change to 41kHZ (or wichever other bitrate your music has) before playing it.

Leave a Reply

