You better update your XPS 15z drivers (and bios).

Posted: July 29, 2011 in Hardware, Software

I just found out that my Dell XPS 15z (shipped out 10 Jul 2011) drivers’ and bios are totally out of date.
– Most of them dated as far as March 2011.
– Default BIOS reports wrong battery capacity and discharge/charge value.
– Some weird upper border bugs which prohibit maximize windows to occupy the whole screen estate (waste around 2mm of space) except when full screen mode.

For those who already purchase XPS 15z but haven’t perform any driver update and bios update, do your laptop a big favor by visiting Dell Driver Page.

Changes that I noticed:

@ It is confirmed that Dell XPS15z uses 8 cells battery with 65WHr capacity. 8 hours + is easily achieved for work/study/office related activities. Wifi On and Off, depend on demand. Brightness, 3 step above the lowest setting.
@ Latest HD3000 driver update fix empty upper border bugs (for maximize windows).
@ Missing Intel Rapid Storage aps now available.
@ Fast Access (Face detection) works much better. For login (able to detect my face less than 1 second) and energy saving purposes. Now, when ever I left my laptop, it will automatically turn of the monitor (not sleep). Doesn’t matter if I set to turn off the monitor after 10 minutes or 1 hour.
@ Dual finger scroll and zooming become more responsive.

I do not perform and quantitative benchmark thus I am not able to comment on performance department. WEI indicate same score though.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3DMark06 result. No tweak what so ever. This is what you can expect from out of the box setup + driver update.

Comments
  1. ken says:

    Fantastic article, I was wondering what a fix and possibly a cause for the border bug to happen, I am so glad I stumbled upon this article! Great job.

  2. knoobs says:

    Thanks for the article – without it I wouldn’t have realised my drivers so out of date! I’ve had one issue you might hopefully be able to help me with though..the HD 3000 driver did fix that strange empty upper border bug immediately after the download but after a restart or two the fix goes away and the upper border bug is back. It’s happened twice now and I was wondering if that was the same for you or if it’s been a permanent fix?

    Cheers

  3. energizecc says:

    I’ve had a similar problem. When I install the HD 3000 driver it fixes the border bug, but after another shut down and restart it’s back. Doesn’t seem to hold the fix.

  4. expertester says:

    I do realize that Windows UAC, the dimming process do cause the upper empty border bug to occur. So, I just set the UAC to “Notify me only when programs try to make changes to my computer (DO NOT DIM MY DESKTOP)”.

    This trick fix 90% of border bug issue. If it happen again, just logoff and logon.

    I know this is pretty annoying. Some forumers do mention that Dell backup services cause this problem. To have a permanent fix, you need to do fresh Win7 installation and re-use your license key.

    I am pretty lazy to do that since I think the default Dell configuration in this machine is pretty amazing and very well optimize. Boot in less than 40 seconds, 8 hours battery life WITHOUT power saving turn ON (Aero is ON), flawless Optimus switching (where some notebook has lot of issue on thi sone) and Dell local backup is always there to restore our C drive in case of something happen. Something that I am not willing to miss if I manually reinstall Win7 HP to my XPS 15z.

    The optimization sure is there :). Hopefully, Dell will release driver update that permanently fix this problem.

  5. expertester says:

    Today, I am going to backup my C drive and install windows 7 home premium from scratch…let see how it goes.

  6. Jason says:

    The BIOS upgrade fixed my clock running too fast issue on my windows 7 os. Thank you very much for the post!

    Thanks,
    Jason

  7. Hello friends, is an interesting topic, but I have a doubt.

    Since I update my BIOS to A05 I have problems connecting to some USB devices, some of them do not recognize, for example, when I connect my Nokia N900 smartphone ultilizando USB cable in the three (3) ports on this notebook XPS 15z the phone does not appear. (I tested on different computers and my N900 is connected without problems)
    On the phone screen sometimes shows the message “Mass Storage” “PC suite” mode, and the USB connection symbol appears on screen, Try both ways and yet never connects, now appears an additional message phone, “No charging, insufficient power”, never seen in the browser files of your computer.
    initially assumed that the problem was in Windows 7 Drivers and reinstalled without solution.

    To leave no doubt that the problem was the OS, install Ubuntu 11.04 and other districts also try Linux, to install the latest Ubuntu 11.10 (the best OS) but the connection problem persists.

    I connected hard drives, flash drives and other USB 2.0 and 3.0, eSATA also without problems.

    Can anyone give me a help diagosticar happens to my USB ports? how to tell if the fault is updating the BIOS firmware?

    sincerely,

    miguelaquintanac@gmail.com

  8. Hello friends, is an interesting topic, but I have a doubt.

    Since I update my BIOS to A05 I have problems connecting to some USB devices, some of them do not recognize, for example, when I connect my Nokia N900 smartphone using the USB cable into the three (3) ports on this notebook XPS 15z the phone does not appear. (I tested on different computers and my N900 is connected without problems)
    On the phone screen sometimes shows the message “Mass Storage” “PC suite” mode, and the USB connection symbol appears on screen, Try both ways and yet never connects, now appears an additional message phone, “No charging, insufficient power”, never seen in the browser files of your computer.
    initially assumed that the problem was in Windows 7 Drivers and reinstalled without solution.

    To leave no doubt that the problem was the OS, install Ubuntu 11.04 and other districts also try Linux, to install the latest Ubuntu 11.10 (the best OS) but the connection problem persists.

    I connected hard disks, pen drives and other USB 2.0 and 3.0, eSATA also without problems.

    Can anyone give me a help diagosticar happens to my USB ports? how to tell if the fault is updating the BIOS firmware?

    sincerely,

    miguelaquintanac@gmail.com

  9. Ben says:

    It seems Dell are still a bit behind. I received my XPS15z 17/12/2011 and had the same battery issues. A phone call to Dell later and they sent me a BIOS update which fixed this.

    Coming across this just confirms the cause of the issue.

    p.s. I would love to know if anyone finds drivers to allow real time rendering in solid works, Dell say ‘only the Precision laptops are confirmed to work with this software’ however although not specifically designed for it. The graphics card in the XPS should be easily powerful enough to support this feature! Surely someone must have built a patch for this?!

  10. I do trust all of the ideas you’ve offered on your post. They’re very convincing and can certainly work.

    Still, the posts are too quick for novices. May just you please extend them
    a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

Leave a Reply

