How to schedule uTorrent to run everytime your computer boot-up (regardless user account etc)

Posted: December 6, 2011 in Software

My home computer has several user accounts. My wife, my kids and administrator. Since this home computer is also serves as torrent server, I want it to run utorrent regardless who login into their account (in fact, I want it to run even if nobody login into their account as well). I may solve this problem using ‘run utorrent as service’ but it is unnecessary complication.

Task scheduler could tackle this problem perfectly. This is how I did:

Initialize the scheduler:

  1. At start menu, type ‘Task Scheduler‘ and run it.
  2. Create a task by clicking ‘Create Task‘ (not the basic one). You can find this ‘Create Task’ link at the Actions pane (right pane).
General Tab:
  1. Assign it a name. As for my case, I named it as ‘uTorrentService‘.
  2. Click on ‘Run whether user is logged on or not’ radio button‘.
  3. Select ‘Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 R2‘. If you try this tutorial at Windows Vista, use Windows Vista instead.

Triggers Tab:

  1. Create new trigger by clicking New… button.
  2. Select begin the task ‘At startup‘.

Action:

  1. Create a new action by clicking New… button.
  2. Select ‘Start a program‘ as Action type.
  3. Browse uTorrent executable file. Normally found at C:\Program Files\uTorrent\uTorrent.exe. If your Windows is 64 bit edition, find uTorrent at Program Files (x86) instead of normal Program Files.

Settings:

  1. Uncheck ‘Stop the task if it runs longer than: 3 days‘.
  2. Click OK button.
  3. Enter administrator password.

Run the schedule:

  1. At the left pane, click at ‘Task Schedule Library‘.
  2. Click at your newly created schedule. As for my case, it is ‘uTorrentService‘.
  3. Click ‘Run‘ at Actions pane (right pane).
  4. Restart your computer.
  5. Check either the schedule is executed whenever the computer is boot-up regardless users’ credential or even if no one is log into. Hint: I check it using uTorrent web GUI which I access using different computer.
Comments
  1. Tester Man says:

    for a completely clean look, start with the /hide parameter

  2. Anon. says:

    So much easier than all the other guides on the web!

  3. help says:

    what about xp, I don’t see at startup.

  4. unni says:

    in win 8 how can I do this??

Leave a Reply

