Izzi Broadband : Shaping and Throttling Now

Posted: July 25, 2008 in Internet
Tags: ,

Urgh…..it really piss me off. Now, not only Streamyx and other major player shapping or throttling P2P packet, Izzi follow their dumb step to. Damn.

Either encryption or what ever trick I tried, the P2P or Bittorent speed still sucks.

Recently I notice, most of the time, my maximum speed only 1/4 what I paid for. 250 kbps instead of 1 Mbps. Maybe, 2 hours (from 5-7 AM), I could get 500 kbps (direct download or speedtest) but still BT speed sucks like crap. 8-12 kBps max. Nothing more.

So, ladies and gentlemen, if you are going to subscribe Izzi because of you might think they are not throttling P2P packet as before, stop now. Else, you will waste at least RM 180.00 (mandatory registration fee). Don’t believe their dumb salesman or salesgirl who keep claiming, you could get full refund. It is clearly state in their term of agreement, RM180 will be charged immediately upon signup. Full stop.

And to get your refund, you need to come to their office by yourself. Sorry mate, they will not waste their cheap money to send you a check via Pos Malaysia RM0.30 cent stamp. And, most of the unsatisfied user claim that Izzi took more than 2 months to process their refund claim. Some even 3 months. What the crap. RM 1300+ refund in 3 months. Urgh.

I dont bother to complain by phone or email anymore because seriously, they just only able to talk but no action to follow up. Their so call technical service guy simply listen to your complain, then bye bye. If you request report number, they will give you one. Then, no follow up from you after several days…case closed automatically by that so call oh so technical guy. It happen to me, I knew. I simply don’t trust what ever they said anymore.

It pretty funny to remember, how cocky they were last year. They claimed by 2010 they will cover the whole Malaysia AND 2Mbps in the pipeline, predicted will be implemented first quater of 2008. Heh, my arse. They not double up the bandwidth but they divide it by 4. And no more tower expansion by now. Perhaps, customer sign in rate not as much as they predicted, and they start to freeze any kind of expansion, to protect their investment and ROI. That is why, without any hesitation, they throttle P2P packet, they divide 4x the bandwidth (so 400% more customer can use the service at the same time).

They are just phucking greedy. Even they know most of the area already saturated and don’t have any short term plan to build more tower to support ever growing customer, they just keep innocent soul to dump their hard earn  RM1300 to Izzi cash box. I even surprise, at Giant Kelana Jaya, there is a shop (not booth) which sell Izzi broadband. WTF man, this area already saturated and still you can afford to have a proper shop there? I am impress actually.

To be honest, once my contract ended, no more Izzi. Perhaps NO to maxis or celcom 3G too. 3G or fake 4G actually never meant to permanent and heavy usage broadband. They are for road warrior. I think, my only option now, back to Streamyx even I call it Screamyx sometime. I have to admit, due to the nature of copper cable and ADSL, streamyx stability and realiablity are questionable, but its speed is OK. At least 1 Mbps user get 1 Mbps. Most of the user get even more (actual capping at 1.5 Mbps actually).

Maybe I just should buy torrent flux service, direct download using office corporate broadband, and subscribe to streamyx combo RM60.00. At least 384 kbps is better than 250 kbps and pay RM60 less too.

So, Izzi subscriber who currently enjoy 500-1000 kbps at this moment, don’t think you are lucky enough. Sooner or later, your area will get saturated or congested. Just pray, that no one in your area interested to dump RM1300 for Izzi as long as possible…LoL.

Note : iBurst (core technology of Izzi) whitepaper, state, maximum downstream (for download speed) is 24 Mbps. In other word, if your place has 24 user who fully utilize their bandwidth, you are safe. But, more than that, your bandwidth will be half, quatter and perhaps… ….. …..

Comments
  1. zairol79 says:

    Yup.. they start shaping P2P already… normal torrent max can get only 10kBps. Promo torrent content which is offer in Azureus can get for 20kBps.(mostly famous video clip).
    I still used Izzi. at the moment I enjoy the speed coz of new tower built at Bandar Manjalara. Previously connected through Bandar Utama.. it dropping until 75kbps in Mei from 500kps during registration last Nov. Hopefully the speed now will long last until end of my subscription huhu

  2. Janet says:

    which router are you using with you dumb izzi broadband?
    I have dumbest combination, izzi + dlink DIR-300 … slow internet connection + can’t login to MSN and few websites.
    I’ve toubleshoot the problem half a year ago, still can’t solve.
    Planned to changed both to streamyx + Taiwan brand router. few more months before my contract is finished with izzi.

  3. expertester says:

    I dont use router for Izzi because mine one is USB. to let my other rig connected, I use Internet Connection Sharing instead.

  4. izchan says:

    Its a bit late but here is the actual control time which I noticed.

    BT will be NOT be shapped during 2AM – 8:59AM. Thats around 6 hours of high download speed.
    Every other hour is around <10 Kbps.

    I believe this is something that they implememted because Users were eating up bandwidth with Torrenting. When I first joined Izzi, my download speed could not even reach 256. Now I can do normal downloads at around 500+ (as in non-torrent downloads).

    U can opt for rapidshare or megaupload movies under these kind of circumstances.

  5. I read your blog for quite a long time and must tell you that your posts are always valuable to readers.

Leave a comment